Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title was changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is under the control of the Minister of Justice and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments, it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 121 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization, which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 42 subdivisions and 648 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the provinces. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the divisional and subdivisional units and the four Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.

The uniform strength of the Force at Mar. 31, 1965 was 7,102, including Marine Constables and Special Constables, at which time it maintained some 2,002 motor vehicles, 20 aircraft, 63 ships and boats, 249 sleigh dogs, 22 police service dogs and 231 horses.

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—The Quebec Provincial Police Force is responsible for the maintenance of peace, order and public safety in the province, and for the prevention and investigation of criminal offences and of violation of all laws of the province.

The province is divided into two almost equal parts known as the Montreal Division and the Quebec Division. The Montreal Division is divided into three subdivisions with headquarters at Granby, Hull and Montreal. The Quebec Division is also divided into three subdivisions with headquarters at Chicoutimi, Quebec and Rimouski. There are 112 detachments throughout the province—62 in the Montreal Division and 50 in the Quebec Division. The Force at the end of 1964 had 1,950 regular members—46 officers, 389 non-commissioned officers, and 1,515 constables.

The Quebec Provincial Police Force is under the command of a Director General who is assisted by an officer holding the rank of Deputy Director General. Each Division is headed by an Assistant Director. A commissioned officer is in command of each subdivision.

Onlario Provincial Police Force.—The Ontario Provincial Police, which has an authorized strength of over 3,600, enforces federal and provincial law in those areas that do not maintain a police department and on all King's Highways. The Force is administered, from General Headquarters at Toronto, by a Commissioner who has the rank and status of a Deputy Minister under the Attorney General. Other senior executive officers include two Deputy Commissioners, five Assistant Commissioners, and an Administrative Aide to the Commissioner. The Force has two principal divisions—Operations and Services—